Our History

Founded in 1959, SAHRMA was originally called the San Antonio Personnel Management Association (SAPMA) and consisted of approximately 25 members. The founding members established the association as a means to provide a forum for personnel and industrial relations professionals in the community. SAHRMA is now the leading provider of resources serving the needs of HR professionals and advancing the practice of human resource management in the city of San Antonio.  We continue to fulfill our founding members’ vision in multiple ways to exchange ideas, discuss best practices, promote professional relationships, serve the community, and encourage and facilitate excellence in human resource management.

Member to Remember

First implemented in 2000, the Member to Remember award recipients are nominated by their fellow SAHRMA members in recognition of their important contributions to the Association, the Human Resources profession and/or the Community. 

2022 - Oscar Martinez

2021 - Maggie Veliz

2019 - Elsa Ybanez

2018 - David Riggs, PHR, SHRM-CP

2017 - Josefina Martinez, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

2016 - Mary Jean Hernandez

2015 - Adrian Guardia


Submit your nomination here.

Past Presidents

The job of the SAHRMA President is to serve as the Chairman of the Executive Board and to perform all duties incidental to that office, including but not limited to, conducting the business affairs of the Association, in accordance with the SAHRMA Constitution and Bylaws. 

2022 - Gonzalo Solis, SHRM-SCP, SHRM-CP

2021 - Dawn Cunningham, PHR SHRM-CP

2020 - Virginia Balfour

2019 - Tiffany Cox Stacy

2018 - Jeri L. George, SHRM-CP

2017 - Barbara Bentley, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

2016 - Melanie L. Sinai, SHRM-SCP

2015 - Rhonda Michel, SPHR, SHRM-SCP  


Key Events in Chapter History

1959 - Founded as the San Antonio Personnel Management Association (SAPMA)

1970 - SAPMA became affiliated with the Society for Human Resources Management (formerly ASPA)

1976 - First Superior Merit Award received

1982 - Hosted the National ASPA (SHRM) Conference

1984 - SAHRMA sponsored the first HRCI Review Course for the PHR/SPHR Exam

1985 - Past President Irene Florida SPHR became the first female Chair of ASPA (SHRM)

1992 - SAHRMA member Dr. Stephen Werling, SPHR, wins the first Texas HR "Educator of the year" award

1998 - Hosted the State Legislative Conference

1999 - San Antonio Mayor Howard Peak proclaimed October 9th as "SAHRMA Day" in celebration of the 40th anniversary

 - The first Irene Florida SPHR HRCI Scholarships announced

2000 - Announced the first Member to Remember award

2001 - UTSA Students placed 2nd at the National HR Games.

 - Dr. Stephen Werling, SPHR is named "Educator of the Year" at the HR Southwest Conference, making him the only two-time award recipient

2002 - SAHRMA member and Past President, Ommy Strauch SPHR serves as Chair of SHRM

2003 - SAHRMA recognizes Ommy Strauch SPHR with Lifetime Membership status and Member to Remember award

 - SAHRMA hosted the first "HR for Business Symposium"

2004 - Dr. Mark Lengnick-Hall is named “Educator of the Year” at the HR Southwest Conference

 - UTSA placed 1st in State and 2nd in Regional HR Games

2005 - Established a Diversity Committee & Chairperson to advise the SAHRMA Board

 - Established a Workforce Readiness Committee to advise the SAHRMA Board

 - Sylvia M. Adame from Our Lady of Lake SHRM Student Chapter was the winner of the Jim Wilkins 
Excellence in Education Scholarship

- UTSA hosted the 2nd Texas HR Games and Leadership Conference

- SAHRMA hosted 2nd Symposium, "South Texas HR Symposium"

2006 - UTSA SHRM Student Chapter members won 2nd place in the US Dept of State National Case Competition

 - Our Lady of the Lake hosted the 3rd Texas HR Games and Leadership Conference

 - SAHRMA member and Past President, Peggy Moore-Ramirez serves on Texas State Council as District Director

 - Hosted the Texas State Council Strategic Planning Session

2007 - Developed and rolled out a program to enhance member services called “Membership Just Got Better”

 - Diversity Toolkit developed and placed on SAHRMA website for the membership

 - UTSA Students placed 1st in State and 2nd in Regional HR Games

2011 - SAHRMA received its first SHRM Pinnacle Award in its 51-year history! SAHRMA was awarded the Pinnacle for its Workforce Initiative - Overcoming Homelessness through Employment Readiness

2012 - SHRM Excel Gold Award

2013 - SHRM Excel Gold Award

2014 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award

2015 - SAHRMA had the prestigious honor of again receiving the much-desired Pinnacle Award from SHRM. Our 2015 Pinnacle Award focused on our efforts with the Transitioning Warrior Workshops alongside CMA. As human resource professionals, we worked to create a program that would match employers with qualified veterans and thereby strengthen and serve our community

2015 - SHRM Foundation Chapter Champion

2015 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award

2016 - SHRM Foundation Top 25 Fundraising Chapter

2017 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award

2018 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award

2019 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award

2020 - SHRM Foundation Top 25 Fundraising Chapter

2021 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award

2022 - SHRM Excel Platinum Award
- SAHRMA's name was officially changed to San Antonio SHRM

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software